Rhyme

spam and jam, they rhyme
like Scarborough Fair’s rosemary and thyme…
peanut butter and jelly…
violins, cellos, and ukulele…
violets, roses and daisies…
life..death and other funny stories…
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday…
sing to me while i lay
closing my eyes to the world
and all things mundane and absurd…
hands and palms and fingertips,
tongue and cheek and cherry lips…
kiss me…touch me…hurt me…
play me…love me
like you did – like you meant it…
blind me with your lies while i sit
silently…weeping…broken and dying
like a lost child cowering…
take my hand…hold me…
brush me off like dust…forget me
like your promises…consider me –
a bad memory…breathe me out; take her in – selfishly
like the freedom you craved – away from me…

Leave a Reply

