Gray

you used to be
the sun in my universe;
the apple of my eye…
the flutter in my heart,
and the silent melody of my thoughts…
but how shall i
describe you now?
to which do i compare you to?
the heaviness of dark clouds…
the coldness of the rain…
the bitter aftertaste of grapefruit…
a distant memory…

you used to be
everything to me…
the reason for my smile…
the love of my life and
the warm embrace i turn to
when the world is cruel…
you used to be
my simplest joy…the color
to my dull existence…
my inner child…
but how shall i
describe you now?
to which do i compare you to?
the sadness in the silver moon…
the emptiness of space…
the chill in winter mornings
a love lost…

i wish everything
was a dream
where i can wake
and still find you where i am…
but i’m wide awake
and all that you used to be
to me are all but traces
of a past that i can never
bring back…

Image

One thought on “Gray”

  1. i sometimes think it IS all a dream and when we die we DO wake up with a sigh of relief! then i think it is about becoming lucid in this daydream, that’s when dreams are most fun!

Leave a Reply

